The Book:

http://amzn.to/1SXBfQ8

Written by the brilliant Tyffani Clark Kemp.

 

Because this is my blog and not amazon or Goodreads, I don’t have to worry about a star rating as much…  Instead you can find my breakdown of the different things that impact my reading experience and overall takeaway here:

 

This review is a bit tricky to write.
Short version: storyline is a 5-star read, but it’s presented in an unprofessional manner due to subpar editing.

Long version:

Character development:
… is brilliant. Truly brilliant, and I felt there was good continuity in regards to who the characters are as people and how they relate to everything/ everyone. Really great characters that you’ll love to hate or find yourself rooting for and feeling for.

Romance aspect:
I could absolutely feel some of the feelings as I read- that doesn’t often happen for me. Also the sex scenes were to the point, so they managed to be hot without being cheesy or dragged out. Very well done.

The plot:
It’s truly a really fun read. Problem for me was, there were some continuity issues. Several small ones and a few bigger ones so it did become distracting. Sure, nothing’s perfect but there were enough that it distracted from the reading experience at times. Normally, with holes/discrepancies like that, I’d dislike the book and rate it low – I think it’s important to note that this story made it all “worth it”, meaning despite the imperfections, I couldn’t put the book down.

I mean, I literally haven’t slept in 2 days because I NEEDED to keep going. Now that it’s over, I even miss it so I’ll be likely jumping into Book 2 and just hoping it’s professionally edited because… I think I’m hooked.

Normally with the number of mistakes I found in this book, I’d not continue in the series, if I even continued Book 1 at all. So again, I think the quality of the story and character development are impressive because I can’t seem to resist this series.

Editing/Proofing:
This book seems like it either was self-edited, or not edited. There is an abundance of things like poor grammar, mis-used words, etc. I think if an editor or at least a proofreader were to take a pass through this, it could be made into the overall-5-star presentation that this story / plot /these characters deserve. I think it’s a shame that the lack of editing is able to impact such a great read to such an extent as to distract from the reading experience.

Cover:
The cover seems professionally done. It looks great and is relevant without being redundant – A+.

Again, in summary. Brilliant writing and design overall. Proper editing would bring this read to the 5stars it deserves.

I do recommend it – as long as you are someone who can get past or won’t notice the mistakes, and won’t dwell on the continuity issues.

 

Cover_BloodAndShatteredGlass