Overall: I love this series. The author designed it all masterfully and it stayed with me pretty hard in between reads. Individual reviews for each title are as follows. 

The series as a whole:

4 stars.

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Thanks to @pinkflamingoaudiobooks for the codes and ultimately helping me figure out how great this author is. They issued me a code for book 1 and when it ended I felt like I absolutely NEEDED book 2 and got another code from them and … this went on for all 4 books.

Book 1: Psychos

This started out fun, with a very relatable, likable lead female and the book is all in her POV. It quickly escalates, but then is very slow-paced, but still intriguing … I ended up getting really into it, after the halfway mark, even though I didn’t find it plausible. (Some dark reads, you can understand where everyone’s coming from and start to believe it all … this one … I actually think will get there, it seems to be a slow build.)

There’s a bunch of ‘shock-value’ scenes, some violence, a bit of action and just when things really start to heat up, it ends on a wicked cliffhanger. Well played, author. And fun. Hoping to read on into the next installment.

4 stars.

Audio:

Amazing production, high-quality sound, crisp, clear narration. And the narrators sound epic. 5 stars.

Book 2: Heathens

After finishing book 1, I immediately had to get my hands on this installment. 

This one picks up right where its predecessor left off … meaning the reader is instantly thrown into chaos, action, danger, death, actual torture and more. Before long though, it does become very slow-paced …  but it also gains a sense of humor. (I might be twisted, judge me all you want but … I found some of the banter in this installment to be hilarious!)

^ On that note: “ … stockholm warrior…”  🤣🤣🤣

Moving on … it’s faster-paced than book 1 for the most part, though some of it was a bit slow. For much of it, I wasn’t sure if I’d read on into the series but it picked up and ended on a wicked cliffhanger, and I’m invested all over again. I hope to read book 3 in this series and I’d definitely explore other works from this author.

4 stars.

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Audio:

A dual cast which sounds absolutely brilliant throughout. And the overall quality is expert-level.

Book 3: Savages

IYKYK – 

OBVIOUSLY, I had to start this book immediately upon finishing book 2, with that ending! And this one doesn’t disappoint, picking up pretty much right where that one left off. Well, 2 days have passed, but they’re on it.

This gets off to such a bloody, violent start and all I have to say about this is I loved it, experiencing it was almost cathartic. Also … I’m going to put this down lower juuuust in case you’re reading this before you’ve read the first 2-3 books in this series …

Other than that, this installment was PACKED with drama, action, danger and steam—a fun combination as the stakes are still perpetually escalating.

4 stars.

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Audio:

Such crisp, clear sound quality throughout, along with brilliant narrators. Perfect. 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I had to admire the author’s skills early into this one, as I felt like I just KNEW the instant Shayne realized she belonged in this world and might have a dark/twisted new … uh … therapy dupe? She knew it too, and it was just so well done. I’m officially a fan of this author and will read anything she ever writes, just based on this one scene.

And I’m sorry, judge me all you want but the scene that followed … I’ll just say ‘the calf discussion’ cracked me up.

Book 4: Maniacs

This is the tale of an accidental empress…

“We’re just three people against a f$&!ing storm.”

Starts out right where book 3 ended—what a cliffhanger!

I don’t want to spoil anything so I’ll simply say … there’s lots of drama and back & forth and I felt at one point, ‘Does this author absolutely hate her female lead or what?’ because it seemed like she could never catch a break.

In true Shane fashion though, she takes matters into her own hands and things get … messy.

This was very well done, both on its own and as a conclusion to this absolute rollercoaster ride of a series. This is the series that officially made me a fan of Sheridan Anne and I’m grateful—because I’ve still got the whole rest of her catalog to binge.

I do recommend this read—but in order. Book 1 started a little bit slowly, but it was needed for the world overall and it was 1000% worth it. I could do without the daddy aspect, but it fits. One thing I noticed about this author is they never took the easy way out—many times they could’ve ended things right as they stood and chosen convenience. The fact they didn’t do this made for a better read and packs more integrity.

I had been assuming this is just a 4-book series, but the way this one was left, there could be more if the author felt so inclined. 👀

4 stars.

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Audio:

Truly perfect, not only with the overall sound quality, but this narrator! I couldn’t help but notice how absolutely, perfectly fitting her emotions were during Shane’s various trials. Kelsey Navarro is officially a favorite of mine.