This is such a great read and seriously underrated. It’s from a brilliant new author, who I seriously hope keeps writing. Left me wanting more. Highly recommend giving it a chance.

http://amzn.to/2gFJepE

Forced to be fake, they fight to get real.

Penny Sparrow is trapped in a lie. She’s a Strowler, a wanderer, forced to live as a Bleater, an ordinary person, for the sake of her family. Rebellion against her fake life leads to more misery as she’s bullied at school and suppressed at home. She makes an ally when she meets Lennon. This ragged street hustler is actually the heir of the Two Dragon Clan and the descendant of a powerful dragon. Murderous relatives have forced him into hiding. The two teens become friends, and perhaps something more, but will the laws of the Crossroads and the demands of a dragon tear them apart?

The World of the Crossroads

The Crossroads series chronicles a secret society of warriors, wanderers, beggars, and assassins. Opposing clans fight for supremacy, some with martial prowess and others with paranormal abilities. Penny is an outcast, shunned for her parents’ deeds. Lennon was born to rule, but murder and deceit put him on a quest for vengeance. Their enemies are powerful and the truth of what happened to their families could tear them apart. Meanwhile, a dragon with his own agenda watches over them all.

Pelican Freak’s 5-star review

I read this book a while ago and just realized I hadn’t posted a review.
This book’s actually been on my mind, which is what made me realize I should post a review… months after finishing it, this sage and its characters are still on my mind.

The characters are complex – even for teenagers, which the mains are. I’m very attached to both of them and very much admire them as people. Even though they’re still young, they know who they are and mostly what they want out of life. They’re both secure in their values and wise beyond their years due to having to grow up fast. Down to earth. You’ll love to root for them and hate on their oppressors.

The author does a brilliant job of alternating the point of views. There’s no confusion, and it doesn’t get boring or leave me hanging – she times it perfectly and makes the transitions perfectly.
The story has some action, plenty of drama, some scandal, a bit of mystery, and some fantasy and probably more that I’m leaving out.
In other words, there’s something for everyone.

I find the cover to be professionally designed and relevant and the formatting/editing to be well done and professional. Very easy on the eyes.
I’m dying for more of this series and I truly hope Saltis keeps writing whether it’s to satisfy my own need for more of these characters or to bring new ones into the world.
5 stars all the way.

