This book was like nothing else I’ve read and I’m a fan!

The book:

http://amzn.to/2djLjnf

icerift

Pelican Freak’s 5-star review:

Wow!

I came into this book not really sure what to expect.
The prologue left me still unsure of what to expect.. it was a great introduction to Mimic, who turned out to be a fascinating character but left questions. Did suck me in though.

The book is set in present time, but has futuristic technology if that makes sense. Really, it’s alien technology that humans stumble upon. Hammott manages to make it seem plausible. It’s not hard to believe that any other race would be more advanced than humans as… clearly we humans cannot get past superficial issues long enough to grip the big picture and just get our shit together.

This book centers around smarter-than-average humans so they sort of stand a chance against what they find… slim as it may be.

There’s nonstop action, almost.
Despite all of the action, there’s still plenty of opportunity to get to know the characters who are brilliantly developed.

I absolutely loved to hate one of them, was fascinated by a couple of them… rooted for the bulk of them and there was even a little romance worked in. Though it was subtle, it still managed to hold my attention and cause me to root for it.

This book also has laugh out loud moments and a little bit of heartwrench.
Lately, I’m having a hard time becoming engrossed in anything… as everything’s been done before. This is like nothing I’ve ever read and I’ll absolutely seek out more rom Hammott.

No complaints at all.. 5 stars.

