I normally only share reviews that are 3-stars and above here on the blog. However, this one is such a waste of time and money, that I feel the need to let the review run and serve as a warning. Some of her descriptions can be disturbing. Seriously, skip this one, or go into it imaging it as satire and laugh at it if, like me, you’re sick of the same old drivel that is repeatedly put out by some “authors”. (I’m using the term ‘authors’ loosely here, clearly.)

The Book:

The Biker’s Property (Ghosts of the Prairie Motorcycle Club Series Book 1) by Regina Fox

http://amzn.to/2cbpY0z

 

PelicanFreak’s 1-star Review:

Cover: Amateur graphics, displaying little to no effort and generic.

Editing/Proofing: Don’t think this author used an editor or proofreader for this one. If they did, I hope they didn’t pay.

Character Development: Considering the author doesn’t even seem to know her characters’ names, I feel I shouldn’t spend my time analyzing them.

This book just needs soooo much help.
There actually could be something here if either – someone who knows how to be a writer became involved, or an editor were used.

Characters are semi well developed, semi-consistent in personality… but the author couldn’t be bothered to give them regular names. One of the main characters literally has name changes throughout the story – it’s horrible. If the author couldn’t even be bothered to give her character one consistent name, and/or edit the book even a little bit to be sure her own characters’ names were consistent, then I’m not sure why anyone should spend their time reading it.

That said, I became intrigued and it’s a really shallow, quick read so I did read it.
There is … sort of a plot. If that makes sense. There are biker gangs, and rivals but… much of the rivalry seems just that: an unfounded rivalry, that feeds stereotypes. This could be developed into something a bit deeper, more complex though, and make for a fun book.

The sex scenes are a joke.
I would NEVER discourage anyone from writing or from ANY of the arts. This author should certainly keep trying… but I do think she should NEVER attempt sex again. While I realize there’s something for everyone / everyone for something… I’ve not been able to find ANYone who can wrap their head around phrases like “meaty bits” and “alternate entrance”.

At times, I was confused as to whether the sex scenes were supposed to be serious? They almost read more like satire. When a clitoris is not even once, but routinely, consistently referred to as “meaty bits” and the like (imagine: other meat analogies that I’d much prefer to forget), it’s impossible to take the scene seriously.

Of course if you’re looking for something to mock, and aren’t easily traumatized, perhaps give this a look. Fair warning: I traumatized everyone I told about the author’s analogies for human anatomy, so do not come at this with a weak stomach.

