In the words of Kylie herself:

A couple of months ago, I had a nightmare. Naturally, rather than just forget said nightmare like normal people might, I decided it would make a good short story, and got to work reinventing it. “Over The River and Through The Woods” is the product of that nightmare. Basically, it’s about a teenage girl named Charlotte, who visits her aging grandmother in the woods for a weekend, and quickly discovers that her grandmother isn’t quite the same grandmother she remembers from seven years earlier. Her mind is fading fast, and so are her manners. As her mood swings grow more and more violent, Charlotte begins hearing strange noises around the old cabin, and begins to wonder if she, too, is losing her mind.

Not long after I started working on this story, I began seeing previews for M. Night Shyamalan‘s newest film The Visit, and quickly noticed some similarities. Now, everyone who knows me well knows that Shyamalan is one of my favorite filmmakers, and I want to make it clear that I would never intentionally copy his brilliant work. It was just bad timing, I guess. And hey, brilliant minds think alike 😉 So, rather than wait until after the Imaginarium Convention which we will be helping with this weekend, I decided to hurry up and finish the story and get it published before The Visit releases. This way no one can say I ripped Shyamalan off.

I so wanted the first book in my Science Fiction saga to be the first thing I published (It’s my magnum opus and I’m sentimental), but since I had to speed up the process, “Over The River and Through The Woods” will officially be my first. But I’m okay with that, because I kind of love this story.

Now, for the cover. My husband Eric Jude (Colonel D.R. Acula) took a beautiful shot of a shed door on our property, and then he colored it turquoise, to match the door in the story. Then I added some finishing touches, and I think that together we’ve come up with a cover that doesn’t give too much away, but still sort of represents the overall theme and vibe of the story. It almost looks identical to what I saw in my mind while writing a certain scene. You’ll see what I mean when you read it 😉

Okay, okay, I’ll quit rambling. Behold the cover!

Cover-Reveal-822x1024

There you have it! My very first cover for what will be my very first published short story. As you can probably tell, it’s a pretty dark story, with a hint of magic and mystery. We’re working on getting it online now, and hopefully it will be available in a day or two, so keep those eyes peeled!

Oh, and just to warn you, since the title is so long, I for one will be using the hashtag #OverTheRiver when posting about it online. Should you be so awesome as to do the same, I shall henceforth declare you awesome, and you shall forever be known as awesome. Okay? Awesome.

Sleep tight; don’t turn out the light 😉

~Kylie Jude.

}i{

UPDATE:

It’s here! Even sooner than I thought it would be.

Here we go, my first Amazon link! Haha, check it out http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0155R5HQE/ref=tsm_1_fb_lk. 🙂

I can’t wait to hear what you think!

