I have an employee who experienced his first college graduation day yesterday. I wanted to do a little something in the way of recognition. I got a gift, something he’d specifically mentioned wanting for the job in passing one time. I made a balloon bouquet. I did not have access to “graduation” type balloons so I did a “celebrate” and then I was gonna surround this with plain yellow ballons and use the gift as the balloon weight. Well, upon filling up a plain yellow latex balloon, I noticed it wasn’t right. So, not wanting to use any more from this batch I decided “oh well… he’s getting princess balloons then…”

(Yellow is his favorite color and all the yellows I had access to have princesses on them.)

Upon filling up a few balloons I realized the helium tank was getting low and, being too lazy to switch it out, the balloon bouquet only consisted of 3 balloons. It was a very windy day and I did NOT have a fun ride, in my golf cart, from the location of the balloon filling-station to the delivery destination –holding them while driving safely (or trying to!) .

Image

Upon arriving at the office, with my half-assed balloon bouquet, I hear a “sssssssssss” and realize “Oh crap, one of them is leaking!” I knew that plain yellow one wasn’t right. Being unwilling to replace the leaky balloon, thus having to make another balloon-toting trip to the office, I simply wrote on the balloon as shown:

Image

He was out working,  and by the time he stumbled upon his surprise, this balloon would be dead or close to it for sure. So I sent him the above picture in a text message, stating, “this’ll make sense later…”

Problem solved, right?

Meanwhile, when he did find his gift, it looked something like this:

Image

 

Image

I crack myself up. I also recommend putting more effort into recognizing your employees than I did today!

