Hibiscus Series

In the few short months since I’ve been taking pictures and working on this new-found skill, I seem to have also found a favorite subject. Wildlife of course is up there; it was pelicans that inspired me to first pick up a camera and they will always be my first love in regards to photography.

Hibiscus, however, continues to reveal itself to me in new ways. Often I encounter hibiscus and think to myself, “move on, you’ve shot these to death already”, and yet at the same time a new vision will appear before my eyes. A new angle usually; some sort of new perspective.

A bit of backstory: I spent about 7 years as a Florist and in all my training, no matter where or with whom, I was always taught “Every flower has a face.” I have always enjoyed flowers from all angles; I have always felt that there is so much more to every flower than its face. As a florist you are trained to place each flower in such a way that shows off its face. This never worked for me as there are many breeds that are quite lovely from the sides or back -some even more so than head-on.

And so, with that, TMaxPhoto has decided to launch an exclusive ‘Hibiscus Series’ by myself. For as long as I continue to capture these flowers in new perspectives, we will continue to publish them. I hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I have enjoyed working with them, and I hope that I will continue to find new angles to deliver on this simple yet beautiful flower.

-J.M. Bollen

I love this shot because it reminds us that there is beauty to be found even in death, at times.

“Macabre Beauty”                                                 I love this shot because it reminds us that there is beauty to be found even in death, at times.

This one has multiple stages of life, hence the title. It serves as a reminder that though it started out small and insignificant, it still went on to make a big impression. Also, as a florist I was taught "every flower has a face". This shot has multiple angles that show us there is more to the face -always.

“Life”                                                              This one has multiple stages of life, hence the title. It serves as a reminder that though it started out small and insignificant, it still went on to make a big impression. Also, this shot has multiple angles that show us there is so more to it than the face.

Simply a different angle on what is typically shown in that classic, front-facing/head-on way. This is one of my earlier shots and has inspired many more as I continue to look at these flowers from new perspectives.

“Amber”                                           Simply a different angle than what is typically shown in that classic, front-facing/head-on way. This is one of my earlier shots and has inspired many more as I continue to look at these flowers from new perspectives.

 

