Another amazing time visiting the pelicans. We arrived with about 4 lbs of whitefish cut up and ready to be handed out; they seem to love it and are really getting to know us. We had only a few non-seagull takers around the docks so we moved over to the beach. A very cool sight when, a few of them seemed to recognize us and came in out of the water and walked right on up to us! Then, as Hubby exclaimed that more were coming, I looked up to see dozens more coming over via underneath the warehouse for their handouts!

Always an amazing experience to have pelicans walk right up to me and just surround me. We saw a few familiar faces: Z80 (named for one of the tags he wears), Whitey and Killer (see the post in which I describe my first experience with him- he gets a little pushy and often tries to eat ME). Just as I asked, “Where is CrazyEyes today?” he appeared – landed in the water nearby. Took a couple pieces from me and then took off.

Killer was aggressive as always. When Hubby came to stand between us, he let out some hisses. He is the reason I have come to learn pelicans hiss. I throw fish into his mouth, but he spits it out and continues to come at me.. apparently he is of the belief that I taste better.

We then headed back, planning to leave but there was so much action. It was late in the day and fishers were cleaning / cutting up their catches of the day and throwing the unwanted pieces into the water where a group of very greedy pelicans awaited.

Image

The men threw some really big pieces, but the birds were determined not to share. They would fight, tug-of-war style over each piece until one lucky winner would snatch the entire thing and quickly make off.

Image

I would then see the greedy bastard struggling with the too big fish… after awhile of this, there were pelicans everywhere looking like this: (fish stuck in their pouch or throat!)

Image

Image

Image

They get vicious with each other, becoming angry at anyone else who gets a piece and responding by crashing their massive, freaky mouths onto the others, often going for the throat or head! Crazy birds!

Image

After enjoying their feistiness for quite awhile, I roamed around a bit and made some friends. My pal Whitey stopped by to say hello and watch the chaos from above, not joining in.

Image

One juvenile, very proud of the fish he won (in the aforementioned tug-of-war games) simply carried it around proudly for quite awhile before flipping it into his pouch.

Image

Later, when he finally did decide to stop showing off and just eat it, he put on the most adorable show. πŸ™‚ (He started out by adding in some water, which is odd as normally they need to drain the water out of their pouches prior to swallowing…)

Image

Image

Image

Image

While I watched the show, I enjoyed the company of another juvenile who had already gone through this. I was close enough to reach out and touch him -he was so friendly, he didn’t even flinch. What a cutie.

I was of course, trespassing on someone else’s dock. It was a large boat who apparently takes tourists out deep sea fishing and it came in so I decided to move on. Upon coming up off the dock, another friendly juvenile walked right on up to me! I just love how friendly they are; it sometimes reminds me of dogs.

Image

Another quality of theirs I love is their very expressive eyes. Not all -but many of them are capable of being very expressive, sometimes to the point of seeming to communicate -just by the look in their eyes. When I was feeding them on the beach some of the smaller, younger ones had these ‘puppy eyes’ as I called them -irresistible!

Anyway, that is my account of my most recent visit with my pelican friends. I am avoiding schoolwork as I write this, so even if no one likes it, that’s okay. πŸ™‚

