Image

 

“Whoooooooooo livesinapineappleunderthesea……..?!”

SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS. 

You know the rest. Whether you want to or not, whether you love the show or hate it, you likely know the rest. It’s catchy, no? I have been known to belt out the entire intro song at the top of my lungs… on repeat… So also, if you’ve ever lived near me, you know it whether you like it or not.

I really cannot say why I love this show so much, but here it is folks, my confession: I LOVE SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS!! I think it’s my favorite show. Mind you I also love shows that normal people enjoy such as Weeds, Breaking Bad, Nurse Jackie, Six Feet Under, etc…. But what is it about Spongebob Squarepants that makes me so happy? I love nothing more than to just veg in front of the television, for hours on end, under a blanket, watching this show. When I am sick, or just feeling sad, I will say to hubby, in a rather childish voice, “I wanna watch Spongebob Squarepants.” He obediently complies, though I’m pretty sure he hates the show.

Seriously, I want whatever who came up with this show is on. It’s about a sponge – a DISH sponge at that, (whose parents are sea sponges) who works at the Krusty Krab, as a frycook, lives in a pineapple under the sea, in a town called Bikini Bottom, has a pet, meowing snail named Gary and who’s best friends are a really brain-dead, over-sized Star Fish and a Kung Fu obsessed Chipmunk or Squirrel (I can never remember which one she is). His boss, Mr. Krabbs, is a “crab” that looks more like a lobster, whose spawn is a giant sperm whale who acts like your typical American teen-aged human child. Now, even though a lobster-crab can spawn a whale, Sandy (the chipmunk or squirrel) has to wear a bowl over her head in order to breathe under water. I could go on all day with the oddities of this show. [I could also go on all day explaining why Patrick & Spongebob are life partners but that’s for another post.]

Then there’s Squidward, an ambiguously, (homo or hetero? Not that it matters.. maybe he’s just Metro anyway…) squid who also works at the Krusty Krab as a cashier. He hates his job, he hates Spongebob.. it would be easier to name what he doesn’t hate really. He loves playing his flute and he loves his own kind… sometimes. Spongebob unknowingly lives to annoy the crap out of Squidward. (I knowingly live to annoy the crap out of my Nana but that’s another story.)

All parents I know seem to HATE this show. They do not want their kids watching it… I think it has to do with Spongebob and Patrick picking one another’s noses and occasionally removing their brains from their heads and chasing them around? 

When recently discussing with someone of an older-than-mine-generation, my love for Spongebob, he pointed out that it’s ’cause it’s “from my time”. This isn’t true. I was already 17 or 18 and living on my own when it hit the airways. I immediately took to it, and have watched it ever since… this was about 14 or so seasons ago (yea, don’t do the math.. I’m old okay?) . So no, that’s not it. I think, probably, the only explanation is that there is something wrong with me.